---
title: "Deactivate a user"
description: "How to deactivate a staff member, user or contact"
url: https://help.ability8.app/en/articles/31-deactivate-a-user
collection: "Manage Users"
updated: 2026-10-03
language: en
---

# Deactivate a user

How to deactivate a staff member, user or contact

Deactivating a user allows you to remove an inactive user whilst retaining all of the associated historical data.

To deactivate a user:

1.  In the menu, select **Users**.
    
2.  Select and open the User Profile you would like to deactivate.
    
3.  In the top section of the profile, select the **Deactivate User** button.
    
    ![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/UIsddTDE9J88euuxJuOI9DagYllSJe4AtWspMxkKvighTRbGYTVEwuSAnpFrafaAKpltidiDSpI.png)
4.  Choose to deactivate the user **Now** or at a **future date**.
    
5.  Select the **Deactivate** button and confirm the pop-up message.
